N133 Temperature Sensitivity

rsrw

Hello all,

I figured I’d come to the source, so to speak, as I know you all use a lot of N133.

I’m an older guy, crested that 70 mark, mostly shoot for fun, but do shoot Groundhog Shoots here in the Northeast. I shoot a custom 223 with 52 grain bullets. Over the years I have used many powders, but just this year discovered N133 and I am totally sold on this stuff.

As we are getting into the cold weather now, I was wondering how stable the N133 is in the cold? I have been using Benchmark for many years and it didn’t really give me too much of an issue in the cold. I was wondering if you all might have discovered a certain velocity drop, per some degree(s) of temperature decrease?

I’m not sure if I’m even asking the question in the right manner, but I sure would appreciate, whatever information you guys could provide me, about the powder and cold temps.

Thanks so much.

Scott

I'm right behind you in age and interested in the same question. This year i switched to N-133 for my 223 using a 50 gr Vmax. I would like to try a 52 gr Matchking this coming year.

I'm right behind you in age and interested in the same question. This year i switched to N-133 for my 223 using a 50 gr Vmax. I would like to try a 52 gr Matchking this coming year.
I’m shooting the 52 Matchking’s and I really like them. They are just kind of hard to find.

I've used N310 for years as my bullseye pistol powder. It's most stable temperature range appears to be 75F to 90F. I carry my reloads and loaded magazines in a small cooler and dial thermometer. In the summer when range temperatures are running 95F plus I add a zip lock baggy with ice. When Temps go below 70F I add hard warmer packs. Hot weather, more power. Cold weather, less power.

I’m shooting the 52 Matchking’s and I really like them. They are just kind of hard to find.
Earlier this month I asked a Sierra ballistic tech about the #1410 availability. His response: