Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Savage Rifles From Walmart

Savage Rifles From Walmart

I am new to rifles and I don't really know one from the other. I want a hunting rifle for deer and I saw one at Walmart. It was a Savage arms 30-06 with a synthetic stock. It was just over 300$. It looked nice, but it was so cheap that I was scared to buy it. Are these guns crap or what? The guy that worked there said something about an accutrigger, but I don't know what that is either.

There was also a Remington 700. What do you guys think about those. Why are some 30-06 bolt action over a thousand dollars and this savage is just over $300. Help please.

There is another forum

Factory & hybrid rifles in the list of forums where you might find folks more likely to know the answer to your question. P.

Back when I was a teenager, you could get a Volkswagon Beetle. It would get you from point A to point B in relative comfort, which is the main purpose of a car. An E-type Jag cost a lot more. However, the Jag was much better for picking up girls.

Staying with the car analogy, you've wandered into a racing forum, and are basically asking racers about the relative values of cars to use for going to the grocery store. Our opinions on something like that aren't "expert."

try go go varmint...

http://www.varminthunters.com/forum/index.php

hey man ...go here,,,it is a site frequented by hunters and varmint shooters,,,they shoot a lot of factory guns and can tell u all about em....Roger

articrafter,

Savages are excellent performers. Not going to win style points or get any oohs and ahs. Don't be scared of the price, appreciate it. If your looking for something on the cheap, might check out the new Marlin bolt gun too. Heard some good on them too.

If hunting is your first interest and funds are limited, get the Savage. If you have the funds, get the Remington. Either one will kill you a deer. Gun sports are like any other sport. You can spend all the money you want to.